Ekiti creates 19 Local Councils amidst unpaid Salaries, dwindling resources

Ekiti State House of Assembly has approved the creation of 19 Local Council Development Areas (LCDA) in the State.

The approval followed the passage of a bill for a law to provide for the creation of new Local Government Areas in Ekiti State and other related Matters, 2021 forwarded to the House by Governor Kayode Fayemi.

SUNSHINETRUTH understands this is coming amidst difficulties by the state government to pay workers’ salaries regularly and dwindling resources to run government.

Many workers were said to be uncomfortable with the development as the state government will incur more recurrent expenditure with the creation of the new LCDAs.

Report says the state government is owing three months salaries with outstanding of two month deduction while local government workers are being owed six months salaries, according to a labour leader who spoke with SUNSHINETRUTH.

The bill was unanimously passed at a plenary held in Ado-Ekiti and presided over by the Speaker, Mr Funminiyi Afuye.

The approved new LCDAs are, Ado Central, Ado North, Ado West, Ajoni and Gbonyin, Ifeloju, Araromi, Ekameta, Ekiti South East and Ero.

The rest are Ifedara, Ifesowapo, Igbara Odo/Ogotun, Ikere West and Ikole West, Irede, Irewolede, Isokan and Okemesi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *