Ondo 2024 Guber poll: Ikales must prepare for Reality


Analyses of major political office holders since 1999 till date, among the six local governments of Ondo Southern Senatorial zone


Ikale land comprises Irele , Okitipupa and part of Odigbo local governments. It is very unique in various ramifications and the land is blessed with glorious sons, daughters and political juggernauts. Like other ethnic groups in Ondo state, they are also descendants of Oduduwa and the political consciousness among this clan is second to none, they are progressives par excellence.

These wonderful people are supporters of our Aketi in the last governorship election in the state , it was interesting to see how the major political players in Ikale-land supported Aketi and these supports later materialized to massive votes for Aketi at the last governorship poll.

Some prominent sons of Ikale land included the former governor and minister of the federal republic of Nigeria, both in the ministry of aviation , power and steel, late Dr. Olusegun Agagu, late Barrister Afolabi Iyantan( former deputy governor to late Chief Adebayo Adefarati of AD ). Others are Chief Jimoh Ibrahim, Prof. Faduyile ( former national president, Nigeria Medical Association), Princess Oladunni Odu( first Female and current SSG of Ondo state), Senator Yele Omogunwa, Hon. Diran Iyantan, Pastor Femi Agagu, Dr. Taiwo Adefurin , Mr. Olatubora SAN, Hon. Abayomi Sheba, Senator Kunlere, Prof. Claudius Daramola, Prof. Odimayo, Eng. Ife Oyedele , Dr. Omomunijoye, Dr. Paul Akintelure, Prince Odimayo and others.

The race for governorship will soon start in Ondo state with some permutations, though, Nigeria constitution vis a vis APC , allows any part of the state to contest , i.e no zoning in the constitution. As expected, with all the well to do aforementioned individuals, many Ikales will want to show interest which I don’t have anything against. I just want some analyses to be done on political office holders among the six local governments of the Ondo South Senatorial district since 1999.


Since 1999, Ikale land has been favored, late Chief Olusegun Agagu was a deputy governor to Evangelist Bamidele Olomilua of old Ondo state, he contested against Chief Adebayo Adefarati but lost the election. The late Barrister Afolabi Iyantan who was the deputy governor of AD was an Ikale man, late Dr. Agagu was later compensated with ministerial slot for Ondo state. Between 1999 to 2003, Ikale men were the deputy governor of the state and minister of federal republic simultaneously. In 2003, late Chief Olusegun Agagu, the golden son of Ikale land became the governor and governed the state for 6 years.

At other times, Senator Kunlere and Senator Yele Omogunwa represented the six local governments of Ondo south in red chamber, making a total of 8 years as senators and minister of state Niger / Delta between 2015 to 2019 under President Muhammodu Buhari. Prof. Claudius Daramola, is from Okitipupa. Our Arakunrin, in his benevolence, now appointed the first female secretary to the state government, Princess Oladunni Odu, a princess of Idepe of Okitipupa. Ikale people haven’t been marginalised since the inception of this dispensation of democracy i.e from 1999 to 2021.


The other local governments include Odigbo, Ile Oluji- Okeigbo , Ilaje and Ese-Odo Odo . The Ilaje and Ese-Odo are the local governments that make Ondo state a member of oil producing states of the federation. It is high time we started thinking of compensating them with the number one position in the state in the spirit of fairness and equity.

In 1999 to 2003, Chief Omololu Meroyi from Araromi Obu, Odigbo local government represented the zone in the senate , while Senator Ehinlawo from Ilaje local government represented them between 20O3 to 2011, the present Senator, Mr.Tofowomo, is from Ile Oluji- Okeigbo. Ese Odo remains the only local government yet to produce a senator in the six local governments since the beginning of this political dispensation . It should be noted that Chief Isaac Kekemeke, a political heavyweight from Ese-Odo local government was appointed by late Dr. Agagu as secretary to state government. Also, Chief Olusola Oke from Ilaje local government was supported by late Dr. Agagu,then PDP for governorship in 2012 but lost out in general election to Dr. Olusegun Mimiko.

Mr. Akeredolu Oluwarotimi SAN, who is renowned for his unparalleled fairness, was the first governor to choose an Ese-Odo man, Hon. Agboola Ajayi ( who betrayed Aketi)as his deputy in his first term, later, he chose the new person, Mr. Lucky Ayeidatiwa, from Ilaje, as the deputy governor, first of its kind in history of the state.


The essence of the article is not to cause any confusion or heat up the politics of the state, mostly 2024 is still far but the above analyses should be considered in the subsequent political permutations in the state in the spirit of fairness and brotherhood which the state is known for, mostly when it is obvious that the governorship may be unarguably zoned to Ondo South Senatorial district after the impactful 8 years governance of Aketi by the major political parties..

We should also know that the decision of who governs any state or nation is from God , we can only try as human beings. Anybody has right to contest for any position, in as much as he or she is qualified by the laws of the land and has enough resources for the realization of his ambition.

Let’s continue to pray for the success of Aketi’s second term as we do our political calculations along with the good people of the state.

*Dr. Akeredolu O.N, vice chairman, Aketi Aiyedatiwa Medical Committee, 2020 campaign*

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *