Unilorin Alumni nine chapters warn Oloyede, others, back Stephen Fasakin



Our attention has been drawn to the recent illegal action and infamy against our Alumni Association perpetrated by a group of persons unknown to law, who call themselves “Asssociation of Past Presidents” of our Association. This group comprises of Profs I-shaq Oloyede, D.O. Durosaro, A.Y. Abdulkareem, Mr. J.J Olorunfemi and MR Abdul Fatai Bello.
It took us by surprise when we were informed that these men organised an illegal meeting of the National Executive Council (NEC) of the Association where they appointed one Jeleel Ojuade as Secretary and pronounced that the National Executive Committee of the Alumni, led by Dr. S.O. Fasakin has been dissolved.

For the avoidance of doubt, The Article 14 (a) and (b) of the University of Ilorin Alumni Association Constitution lists the composition of NEC as follows:

  1. All members of the Executive Committee
  2. All the acredited Chapters Chairmen (recognized) who pay their dues to the Association regularly, or their representative,
  3. Three Ex-officio members.
  4. All Past presidents except those impeached.

As Chairpersons of chapters duly recognised by our constitution, we contend that the body of past presidents, which came from the initiative the Vice-Chancellor did not invite or involve any of us in the purported meeting held on the 19th of February at Savanah Hotel, Ilorin.

The kangaroo meeting did not also have any recognised Chapter Chairperson in attendance as we have it on good authority that hired thugs and miscreants were handsomely paid to attend the illegal meeting where the rights of Chapters and their Chairmen was subjugated.

Consequently, we hereby dissociate ourselves from the purported actions taken by the so called past presidents and affirm our confidence in the democratically elected Executive Committee ably led by the National President, Dr. Stephen Olawale Fasakin.

We consider it unfortunate that the so called Past President have chosen the path of dishonor and ignominy at a time when the Alumni is supposed to be projecting the good image of our almamater.

While imploring our members to remain calm in the tirade of this provocation, we hereby urge members of the public to disregard the illegal document titled ‘Disclaimer’, signed by one Jeleel Ojuade. Apart from the fact that Ojuade is unknown to the Association and a crony of the so called committees of Past Presiden. By his illusion of “disclaiming” seven officers outside Kwara and retaining other four, the so called release exposes his hypocrisy and illiteracy in the affairs of the Alumni.

We are aware that this matter has since been taken to court, however, we still believe that all contending issues can be amicably resolved.

We are willing to join hands with the Chancellor, the Pro Chancellor and the Vice-Chancellor to urgently intervene in this matter in order to arrest this avoidable sad development which has brought the image of our dear alamamater into disrepute.
Thank you.


  1. Mr Bayonle Salami, Oyo Chapter Chairman
  2. Mr Segun Ipinniwa, Ogun Chapter Chairman
  3. Dr Rabiu Iyanda, Osun Chapter Chairman
  4. Engnr Ayodele Ashamo, Ondo Chapter Chairman
  5. Barr Olusegun Adekunle, Abuja Chapter Chairman
  6. Mr Kayode Oloruntoba, Kogi Chapter Chairman
    7, Mr Blessing Wikina, Port Harcourt Chapter Chair
    8, Mr David Owolabi, Ekiti Chapter Chairman
    9, Mr Olu T. M, Edo Chapter Chairman

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *